My favorite classic leading men…

 I just felt like swooning over black and white photos of beautiful classic leading men this morning.  Perhaps I’m also swooning because my neighbor is currently fogging his yard with clouds of anti-mosquito poison…

Anyway, watching old Hollywood movies wasn’t easy as a child in the Philippines — if you wanted to see an American black and white film, you had to rent a video.  From a young age, I listened to my dad talk about these Hollywood greats and learned to love the movies, the glamor and the actors.  As much as I love Brad Pitt, Hugh Jackman and Russell Crowe, it seems like no one can hold a candle these days to the super actors of yesteryear.  These photos below show how timelessly gorgeous they still are. 

Loved him in Cat on a Hot Tin Roof, Cool Hand Luke and Butch Cassidy…

Woo woo, Paul Newman!

Woo hoo, Paul Newman

 

My mom’s ultimate favorite (along with Alain Delon) and star of the tragic A Place in the Sun…

Gorgeous Montgomery Clift

Gorgeous Montgomery Clift

 

In this photo, he’s playing Jett Rink, my favorite character in Giant…

Swoon, James Dean

Swoon, James Dean

 

Super talented anti-hero star of Cape Fear and Night of the Hunter…

Robert Mitchum : )

Robert Mitchum : )

 

My mother’s faaavorite actor, and beautiful Frenchman…

Alain Delon

Alain Delon

 

Gorgeous and still really active today…

Before his spaghetti western days... Clint Eastwood

Before his spaghetti western days... Clint Eastwood

 

Channeling Hugh Jackman, another photo of Clint Eastwood…

Sigh

Sigh

12 responses to “My favorite classic leading men…

  1. Alain Delon is my mom’s favorite too! Me, I can stare at Montgomery Clift’s face all day…

    But my fave will always be Gary Cooper 🙂

    • Ooh, Gary Cooper. What a range he had- from dapper debonair to aw-shucks in Mr. Deeds.

      What was it with our mothers and Alain Delon? ha ha. He was really gorgeous though. : )

  2. Nice list. I personally have a hard time deciding between Paul Newman and Clint Eastwood, both are great.

    http://www.webthrowdown.com/224/paul-newman-vs-clint-eastwood/

    • I agree. I voted for Clint on your throwdown because well… he’s still around acting and directing. I miss Paul Newman though.

  3. What about Marlone Brando?

  4. James Dean is the hottest and most sexy guy in the history of time.

  5. Growing up in Europe it is always #1 Alain Delon and running next to him is Dirk Bogarde.
    Later on Robert Redford , Richard Gere and Brad Pitt in US.

  6. After listing of my #1 favorest two leading men Alain Delon and Dirk Bogarde,I have forgotten the 3rd one a gorgeous Robert Taylor with angelic face and perfect teeth.

    • Yes, Robert Taylor is very underrated (ie, he never makes these lists) but is really handsome. Especially with Greta Garbo in Camille. Sigh!

  7. the most handsome of all is Alain Delon from Europe and Montgomery Clift from USA.

  8. ı love you alainn beatiful

Leave a Reply

