Vintage ads by mad men

I wonder how I could have possibly suspected that the following ads were conceptualized, written and produced by a bunch of men in a 1960s HBO’s Mad Men-style office:

 

Every man dreams of being married to a peppy wife…

"This peppy wife just poured a box of arsenic in your coffee, dear"

"I worked hard procuring arsenic for your coffee, dear"

 

Cute “men are better than women” ad…

Taken a few seconds before Angela stabs both men with the climbing pick...

Taken a few seconds before Angela stabbed both men with the climbing pick...

 

The just-about-to-be-divorced man’s guide to buying presents for the wife…

I think this ad made me grit my teeth down to stumps...

I think this ad made me grit my teeth down to stumps...

 

Great Hannibal Lecter type imagery for an ad selling synthetic pants…

Leggs slacks ad

Linda bided her time, waiting for the perfect moment to throw a match down Bob's dapper yet highly flammable DACRON pants...

 

Adorable ad about female drivers…

"Officer, I'm so dumb that I mistook my husband for a speed bump and ran right over him"

"Officer, I'm so dumb that I mistook my husband for a speed bump and ran right over him"

7 responses to “Vintage ads by mad men

  1. Although Mad Men is HBO quality, it’s actually found on AMC.

  2. Writing about 1950’s advertisements and Mad Men for my dissertation at University, enjoyed your vintage ads!

  3. I thought the girl driving looked a little like a young Goldie Hawn

  4. Your blog is cracking me up. (That’s old school for ROTL and LOL)

Leave a Reply

