Devilishly Divine Joan Crawford

“If I can’t be me, I don’t want to be anybody.”

Joan_Crawford from divathesite.com

 

Despite what Christina Crawford wrote in “Mommie Dearest”, how can you not love (or love to hate) Joan Crawford?  Now she was a total Hollywood diva.  After all the stories about her cattiness and nose in the air attidude, the wonderful thing is that she could back up all the airs with top-rate acting and screen presence.  From Grand Hotel to her later B-movie attempts, the camera adored her.  She even stood out as the hateful Crystal in the original (1939)The Women (one of my favorite movies).  And considering she was in that movie with greats like Rosalind Russel, Norma Shearer and Paulette Goddard, that’s saying a lot.  Here are more delicious quotable quotes from Christina’s Mommie (I didn’t include “No wire hangers!”):

“I, Joan Crawford, I believe in the dollar. Everything I earn, I spend.”

“Helga, I’m not mad at you.  I’m mad at the dirt.” (to her maid)

“If you want my opinion, far too many actresses today are little more than tramps and tarts.”

“We’re paid to turn shit into gold.” (on Hollywood)

“Women’s Lib?  Poor little things.  They always look so unhappy.  Have you noticed how bitter their faces are?”

 

Ok, so maybe she really was a scary mom...

Ok, so maybe she really was a scary mom...

 

But bitch-ay or not, you just gotta love her.  Unless you’re another Diva like Bette Davis (looove her) who reportedly couldn’t stand dearest Joan, and the feeling was mutual.  In several Bette biographies, there are just loads of gems about their ‘little’ feud…

 When asked why she avoided Joan at Hollywood functions, Bette stated:

“You hang around that woman long enough and you’ll pick up all kinds of useless shit.”

Love is in the air...

Love is in the air...

Sigh, these Divas, gotta love them.

Joan in a gorgeous photo by Hollywood photog Yousuf Karsh

Classic Joan photographed by Hollywood photog, Yousuf Karsh

2 responses to “Devilishly Divine Joan Crawford

  1. Oooh, Joan Crawford! I just saw Whatever Happened to Baby Jane, and was completely creeped out. Joan and Bette- both awesome 🙂

Leave a comment